Unofficial results in for local elections

Mount Pleasant elections: Mayoral
Cory Amerson 163–11.54%
Thomas Ratliff 622–44.02%
Tracy Craig 628–44.44%
The mayor’s race will need to be decided in a runoff election between Ratliff and Craig.

Place 1
Robert Nance 598–42.81%
*Jerry Walker 798–57.19%

Place 2
Danny Muskrat 651–47.80%
*Sherry Spruill 711–52.20%

City of Mount Pleasant Proposition A (liquor sale)
*For 760 53.45%
Against 662 46.55%

Mount Pleasant ISD Bond Election
*For 1,001 55.83%
Against 792 44.17%

Pittsburg ISD

Incumbent Vernon Rowe returns to his Place 7 seat on the Pittsburg ISD board of trustees after edging out the competition in a three-person race. Rowe received 471 votes to defeat Bryan Berry who had 396 votes and Alethea Smerdon who finished with 145 votes.
Former Pittsburg ISD administrator Vicki Rockett defeated Pittsburg native Tarla Bates for the Place 6 seat formerly held by Trustee Jerral Walker. Rockett finished with 599 votes to defeat Bates who garnered 418 total votes.

City of Pittsburg

The City of Pittsburg elects a new mayor and his name sounds eerily familiar. David Abernathy, son of the elder Abernathy, who served in the same position for 52 years, will be the city’s next mayor after defeating challenger Carrie Thomas 289 to 77. City Councilman Fred Cook, who ran unopposed, received 308 votes.

Daingerfield-Lone Star ISD

Incumbent Marie Skipper edged out Stacey L. Tigert to reclaim a seat on the board. Skipper received 337 votes to Tigert’s 294. Chris Smith and James R. Duke were unopposed.

Lone Star City Council

Mona Brown and C. Rudy Dudley received the highest two totals to capture seats as aldermans for the city council. Dudley finished with 65 votes will Brown received 64 total votes. Cody Wommack rounded out the race with 52 votes. Randy Hodges ran unopposed for the mayor’s seat.