Athletes honored at annual banquet

Members of the Mount Pleasant High School Tigers football teams were honored at the annual Athletic Football Banquet Feb. 8 at the Mount Pleasant Civic Center.  Those receiving honors for their performance on the gridiron during the 2017 season include:

Defensive Lineman- Buddy McGill; Offensive Lineman- Quenton Toney; Defensive Back- Terrance Allen; Offensive Back- Josh Morris; Linebacker- Edher Oviedo; Receiver- Dorian Glinton; Special Teams- Josh Morris; Most Improved-Tyke Fluellen; Built Tiger Tough- Daniel Landeverde; Tiger Captains- Edher Oviedo, Chris Clavel, KJ Cannon and Terrance Allen.    The Most Valuable Player for the 2017 season was Edher Oviedo. Zane Phillips was chosen as the Freshman Player of the Year. JV Players of the Year included: Christion Cervantes on defense and Kaleb Thompson and Jalen Williams were tied on offense. Daniel Landeverde received the Academic All-State award.