Voters decide key races in three counties

After the dust settled on a very busy primary election day, voters in the Tri-County area returned two incumbents to office, set the stage for runoffs in two other races and saw one candidate win by only five votes.


Two-term Republican Titus County Judge Brian Lee garnered a total of 1,854 (54.79%) votes to beat challenger Denise Reichert who received 1,530 (45.21%) votes in the March 6 primary race. After the unofficial results were in, Lee shared these comments.

“I am elated to have another term in office,” Lee explained. “It’s an honor to have this job and it is a job that I take very seriously. I’m proud to work in the best County in Northeast Texas. I want to thank my wife, Judy, my friends and the supporters who shared my story. God is so good to me.”

Another Titus County incumbent, Commissioner Precinct 2 Republican candidate Jimmy Parker, also captured a win with 700 votes (60.66%) to defeat Judy Kent who finished the race with 454 votes (39.34%).

In the Titus County District Clerk’s race, Republican candidates Marcus D. Carlock IV and Esther Holliday now find themselves in a runoff. With no clear majority, Carlock received 1182 (36.77%) votes while Holliday had the second highest tally of votes at 1,046 (32.53%). Sharyn Cary rounded out the Republican candidate votes with 987 (30.70%). The winner of the Carlock-Holliday May 22 runoff matchup will face Democratic candidate LaWyanda Prince in November.

Just five votes separated Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 Republican candidates Irma Dunn and Tim Blair. Dunn received 300 votes (50.42%) to narrowly edge out Tim Blair who finished with 295 (49.58%) votes.

In the Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, 3 and 4 race, Republican candidate Steve Agan received more than double the total votes cast ahead of Woody Hughes. Agan received 1, 701 (65.68%) votes while Hughes finished with 889 (34.32%). Agan will now face Democratic candidate Tracy Craig in November.

Republican Commissioner Precinct 2 candidate John Fitch edged out challenger Eddie Perritt in another close race. Fitch received 324 (52.85%) votes to Perritt’s 289 (47.15%) votes. Fitch will now face Democratic candidate Raymond Johnson in November. Johnson received 144 (68.90%) votes to win over fellow Democratic challenger Phillip Hoffman who finished with 65 (31.10%) votes.


In unofficial results, it appears the next Morris County Treasurer will be Molly Cummings after she defeated Republican challenger Taylor Byrd. Cummings received 700 votes (51.89%) over Byrd’s 649 (48.11%) votes to take the majority.

The Republican candidate for Morris County Judge will have to be decided in a runoff election May 22 after none of the three challengers received a majority of the votes. Doug Reeder led the pack with 664 (47.06%) votes. Jimmy Gilliam finished second with 489 (34.66%) votes ahead of Jim Snyder who had 258 (18.28%) votes. The winner of the May 22 runoff election will face Democratic challenger Deborah MacKay in November.

Republican candidate Kerry McCoy pulled out ahead of both Jerry Stoermer and Mike Harte to capture the County Commissioner Precinct 2 seat. McCoy received 258 (52.33%) votes while Mike Harte finished with 118 (23.94%) votes. Stoermer rounded out the race with 117 (23.73%) total votes.

“I am relieved; super happy,” McCoy said inside the Morris County Courthouse after learning he had won. “I want to thank my girlfriend, Kim Byrd, my Dad, my sister, both of my brothers and all of my family and friends for their support. And I thank you, God.”


Republican incumbent Precinct 2 Commissioner Steve Hudnall will challenge Democratic candidate Tim Royal in November after capturing 201 (52.89%) votes over Republican challenger Gary Paul McFerrin who received 179 (47.11%) votes.

Early voting for all runoff elections will be held May 14-18.